2015 Nürburgring 24 hour Race Results and Gallery


Audi relegated their strong opponents from BMW, Porsche, Mercedes and Nissan to secure a win at the dramatic Nürburgring 24 hour race in Germany.

Christopher Mies, Edward Sandström, Nico Müller and Laurens Vanthoor drove the new-generation Audi R8 LMS to its victory in a grueling 156-lap race at the legendary Nordschleife circuit.

It was the closest finish in the history of the race, as the Audi R8 LMS was just 40 seconds ahead of second place finisher, the BMW Z4 GT3 of the BMW Sports Trophy Team Marc VDS driven by Maxime Martin, Lucas Luhr, Markus Palttala and Richard Westbrook.

Third place was secured by Peter Dumbreck, Wolf Henzler, Martin Ragginger and Alexandre Imperatori in the Falken Motorsports Porsche 911 GT3 R.

Race results (Top 12)

1 Mies/Müller/Sandström/Vanthoor (Audi R8 LMS)                     156 laps
2 Luhr/Martin/Palttala/Westbrook (BMW)                                     + 40.729s
3 Dumbreck/Henzler/Imperatori/Ragginger (Porsche)                – 1 lap
4 Adorf/Catsburg/Farfus/Müller (BMW)                                          – 1 lap
5 Buurman/Al Faisal/Haupt/van Lagen (Mercedes)                      – 1 lap
6 Cerruti/Edwards/Keilwitz/Laser (BMW)                                       – 3 laps
7 Jöns/Kaffer/Thiim/Vanthoor (Audi R8 LMS)                               – 3 laps
8 Brück/Primat/Schmid/Seefried (Bentley)                                   – 5 laps
9 Buncombe/Hoshino/Krumm/Ordonez (Nissan)                         – 5 laps
10 Heyer/Huff/Frommenwiler/Krognes (Mercedes)                    – 5 laps
11 Busch/Busch/Frankenhout (Audi R8 LMS ultra)                      – 7 laps
12 Cheng/Lee/Thong/Yoong (Audi R8 LMS ultra)                       – 8 laps

2015 Nürburgring 24 hour Gallery

Photos via Sportscar365